Bollywood Movies

IAEA: AUKUS Countries Committed to Nuclear Non-Proliferation in Submarine Plan

BERLIN (Reuters) – The US, Australia and Britain must implement safeguards and are committed to global nuclear non-proliferation with respect to a plan to provide Australia with nuclear-powered submarines, the International Atomic Energy Agency said on Tuesday.

“In their communications, the AUKUS Parties reaffirmed their previously stated commitment that maintaining the integrity of the nuclear non-proliferation regime and Agency safeguards remains a core objective in relation to AUKUS,” said a statement.

Under the deal, which angered Beijing, the US intends to sell Australia three US Virginia class nuclear-powered submarines, which are built by General Dynamics, in the early 2030s, with an option for Australia to buy two more if needed.

(Writing by Matthias Williams; Editing by Madeline Chambers)

Political Cartoons on World Leaders

Copyright 2023 Thomson Reuters,


Source link

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button